tamicakes

Fondant FAIL :(

Posted on: April 15, 2011

I had a bad night baking last night 😦 Didn’t get home until late so I started tired and ended up ruining the whole thing! But I have learnt a few thing that I would like to pass along… although you will see the outcome was still chocolaty heaven!

I attempted to make the Chocolate Fondant Cupcakes from the latest Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook – Cake Days. As I use muffin cases instead of cupcake wrappers, the mixture is not quite enough so this time I decided to double the mixture….. well I made 24 cupcakes and a “cakice” (a cake that really looks like a slice!) So note to self: don’t double that mixture!!! I also have moved house and am still getting used to the oven…it heats at the back and the front not so much, so the front cupcakes were still undercooked and the back cupcakes were a little overdone! Grrrrr… Also to see if they are cooked, I lightly pressed the top to make sure it bounced back, this certainly happened but when they cooled they sunk…note to self: use a skewer on this recipe to ensure its cooked all the way through. In the end though I had enough cupcakes to feed the army of workers at HR and then give the left overs to mum and dad to sweeten them up! 🙂

I won’t be uploading this recipe I am encouraging you to purchase the book! It is amazing and I can’t wait to get baking some more! lets hope they are more successful!

Fondant Cupcakes 1Chocolate Fondant Cupcakes

Over the weekend I might be able to whip up a brownie based cheesecake… stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • tamicakes: I cant find any decent bananas :(
  • Peta: you can afford bananas? HR are obviously paying you too much!
  • Chelsea: Holy crapola they were magnificent!!

Categories

